Suggestions for a soon to be College Graduate

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by RandyM85, Dec 28, 2006.

1. RandyM85

RandyM85

Hello --

I'm about to graduate from a top 10 US public university and I'm looking for a place to work. But first, I need to figure out if propping is what I am looking for. I traded my way through college and my passion is really equities trading. I love it and I believe it is really what I think I want to do with my life. I have an opportunity with a Sub-LLC of Prestige Capital in NYC but I'm not sure if this is the greatest fit for me. They are offering an extensive training program and even though I have been a consistently profitable trader for 3 years I think I should amplify my trading education with a prop training program if I decide to be a prop trader.

I was just wondering if anyone had any comments or suggestions for me. I'm about to take a big step in my life and although I am very excited but I also have my apprehensions. I'd appreciate any advise anyone has for me. Thank you.

--Randy

2. 1.Be prepared to lose 80-100% of your deposit within 3-5 months. 2.Don't trade the way they want you to, you will churn all your profits into commissions.

3. I know you're anxious right out of college to get a trading job, but you must thoroughly research this industry and not just jump into the first prop shop that offers you a "trading job" with no salary and teaches you some tired and fully milked strategy scalping listed equities.

Right out of college you should be applying to places like this:

http://www.careerbuilder.com/JobSeeker/Jobs/JobDetails.aspx?Job_DID=J3I2Q55YZ588Z719GB5

http://www.careerbuilder.com/JobSeeker/Jobs/JobDetails.aspx?Job_DID=J8B2RZ64DJFQS7LG15F

4. What are you talking about?

Guy says he's been consistently profitable for last 3 years!

5. Agreed. Get a proper trading job at one of those BB firms.

6. RandyM85

RandyM85