Success/Failure

Discussion in 'Trading' started by SimpleTrades, Feb 19, 2011.

1. I am a virgin! Well, to be precise, I am a virginal trader. Actually, I guess I just lost my virginity. I have worked exactly half a day as Proprietary Day Trader. Not a bad first day. I didn't lose any money! Profit? $3.50 (after fees) on $10,000 of capital. I am a student trader still. Need to earn $2000 of profit in one month to graduate and receive more capital to trade. I have been given complete freedom to trade any stocks priced under $30 on the Nasdaq, TSX, or NYSE. Minimum 100 share lots. I guess I can chose more expensive stocks, but with minimum 100 share lots this is risky.

I've been reading a lot about people's experiences on this forum and others. I am curious to know how many of you trade by yourself, and how many of you work for someone else. My suspicion is that those who start by themselves tend to do more poorly at first. Am I right?

Any further recommendation would be appreciated. Please, help me to succeed as quickly as possible. Thanks.

2. Wilt

Wilt

I trade for myself, started by myself, and I believe that contaminating your talent with the perceived limitations you get from others is counterproductive. I am a very good trader, take my advice or don't. I believe you are setting yourself up for trouble by using limits like stocks under $30 etc. Your goal of 20% in your first month is pretty lofty. I simply recommend that you don't limit yourself to any stocks or trade sizes. Trade where the action is. If that's NFLX, it's NFLX. I would look at your goal as 1% per day. You can make 1% in high dollar stocks as easily, if not more so than in stocks under $30. Trade to achieve your goal, not to transact any certain number of times to please your firm. Good luck and never pass up an opportunity because of share price.

Wilt

3. What you'll do if you blowup your capital trading?
    You'll find yourself with no job, no income no savings and no career.