Submitting new buy stop orders where my cash cannot cover all orders

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by Anoobis, Jul 9, 2019.

1. Anoobis

Anoobis

Hello All:):):)

I'm still new to Interactive Brokers; I only have a cash account with them (no margin allowed). Question is: say I have 30k cash in my IB account and I submit 5 pending orders (could be going long or short) that total say 50k, is there any possible problem?

Obviously it's good to set up a few orders because usually not all stocks will hit my target stop price to enter the position. But if they did all hit my buy target price I presume IB system would just know to ignore my extra orders due to insufficient funds?

IB lets me put in orders that exceed available funds but I'm not sure if there's some possibility of things getting messy - like maybe they accidentally buy the whole 50k worth then ring me up saying I need to urgently deposit extra 20k!

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

You can't short in a CASH account.
    You can't exceed your available excess with any order either filled or open.

murray t turtle likes this.
  3. Anoobis

Anoobis

Oh? It definitely lets me enter pending orders greater than my available cash.

Thing is it's an Australian account - they took margin off non-business traders for Aussie accounts. I'm not sure it's strictly a cash account in US sense. Aussie non-business accounts might get their margin choice restored in the future.

4. You already mention: you have a cash account so no margin will be allowed. What this means is that if several of your orders have filled and used 29k of the available 30k then the next order which would require more than 1k will be refused by IB's system.

Anoobis likes this.
  5. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

We can offer a margin accounts for Australian's (If you qualify) starting at $25,000 USD with access to US-listed equities and options. We offer Futures too.

6. Anoobis

Anoobis