Student Loans

Discussion in 'Economics' started by John_Doe, Jun 19, 2011.

1. John_Doe

John_Doe

With bleak job prospects for non-real world education funded by massive loans that can't be easily discharged with bankruptcy, then what are we doing sending students to college when they can't even be guaranteed the shirt on their backs?

2. morganist

morganist Guest

It is so the unemployment figures don't look bad.

3. Well the economy goes in cycles. When the tide comes in these students will find employment. There is no choice. The difference in salary of college grads vs non-grads is astounding. To get in through the door, a college degree is a must. yes, even english and history major is OK.

Unfortunatly there is NO way to get around paying back student loans. I graduated from grad school in 1993, and just this year 2011, I finally finished paying back every cent plus interest, penelty -:) Its like that joke a comedian tells, you get in the elevator, the doors open on the 52nd floor. you walk out and find yourself in the middle of the Mojave Desert. You come to a house, in the middle of nowhere, the phone rings in the house, you pick it up, its your student loan officer calling, asking when you will pay back the loans.

4. morganist

morganist Guest

It is one hell of a risk. If you think about it you shouldn't have to take that kind of risk for employment. That tells you a lot about the economy.

Why is all the responsibility on the employees part now. It used to be the employer that had to pay for the education of the staff. Now they expect you to pay for the right to work for them.