struggling trader needs help

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by rnaugin, Mar 1, 2009.

1. rnaugin

rnaugin

Hello everyone,

I have been reading this board for quite some time, but this is my first post.

I am a struggling trader, and I hope that by posting here I can pick up some advice and encouragement to keep going. I also hope that by airing this publicly I might be able to narrow my focus and solve it.

It is a firm goal of mine to make a living trading. I am very committed to it. I have been trading on and off for the past 14 years, between job contracts. Total calendar time spent on trading related activities is probably 1.5 years.

I "know" enough now to be successful. In fact I "know" enough about trading to write a very credible response to this post, should I choose to masquerade as an expert. :)

Over the last calendar year, I've kept detailed notes on my trading and have addressed several important issues. However there is one thing that I just can't seem to overcome:

Revenge trading. I hate losing.

This is a tough one for me. My first loss of the day is pretty easy, I take it mostly in stride. However, it upsets me somewhat and I start to rush a bit. The second loss is usually due to obvious stupidity on my part, and that makes me really mad at myself. Then I start looking for anything that looks remotely like a setup or just take impulsive scalps.

I only quit when I reach my "point of unbearable pain" which is sometimes more than 10% of my account. After than I am defeated and depressed and ready to give up.

It sounds easy to say "just don't do that". But I can't describe how powerful the impulse is to "fight back". My hands shake and my heart rate goes up. I can't think clearly. I know in that moment that I MUST stop trading. Only rarely can I actually walk away when that happens.