Struggling to Grasp Vomma/Volga of OTM Options

Discussion in 'Options' started by HBWTech, Nov 27, 2018.

1. HBWTech

HBWTech

Hello, everyone. Disclaimer: I'm a rookie at the quant things

I've been recently working on some strategy development and have come up against a problem that I can't seem to find a satisfactory answer to:

The structure I'm brainstorming about involves creating a very deep OTM iron condor (or emulates one in terms of non-vol parameters) but with positive Volga. Not sure I'd actually trade it - it has become more a learning exercise and exercise of my stubbornness at this point. However, my understanding of Volga is at odds with what I'm finding in my research (using the analyze tab)

For example: 62 DTE in \GC. Short strikes around 12 Delta and long strikes around the 5 Delta. I've poked around in some AAPL option chains as well so I'm thinking the futures aspect doesn't factor in (though I could be wrong on that certainly)

Now, this is where I'm guessing I've got a mistake in my thinking:

everything that I've poured over would tell me that this trade would have a negative Volga - I.E. the overall magnitude of vega for the position should increase (become more negative as the case is) as volatility increases.
    I claim that for this reason: If the bimodal peaks of the Volga curve occur around 1 stdv away from the money, the long options would have a lower Volga than the short ones, and thus, the short options vega would increase (in magnitude) more quickly than the long options' vega would increase (in magnitude) - resulting in an overall vega that is becoming more negative as vol expands.

My confusion comes from using Tos' analyze tab to simulate spikes in volatility for such a position, and what I find is that the vega moves towards zero as volatility gets pushed up. As a matter of fact, I keep finding that the vega of further OTM options is more sensitive to volatility than closer to ATM across all OTM strikes.