String of losses, time to sidestep

Discussion in 'Trading' started by innovest_11, Nov 12, 2007.

1. Suffer strings of losses, which cut my acc down by nearly 8%, time to step aside and watch from sideline, time to bring coffee to fellow traders

Dare not short, cause a relief rally is quite scary too. Imagine i already cut down my trading by 50% and still suffer 8%, btw, i'm a swing trader, not day

2. Maybe it is time to take a break for vacation, to avoid been chop in choppy market

3. if you take a break at least watch what happens this week, options expiration on friday, a lot of folks buying puts thinking they will get rich, the bottom is dropping out on cnbc, but all of a sudden there will be a rally before friday and things will look up, the puts will be worthless and you'll see whose ruling the market, the options guys will make it so, then we'll go down again but until after friday, just look at your charts around options expiration and see what happens, you want to be watching these weeks, these are the weeks that show you how it works and around the 1st of the month, how about keeping an eye on etrade to see what happens when they dump it and options are going to expire, it will run up before because the obvious thing to do is buy puts, i'm going to watch it, theres allot of learning in this volitility

4. the put-call ratio was about 2.5 before the market started plummeting a week ago. you could have been contrarian and sold naked puts, in which case you would have gotten your a** handed to you by now. also, any negative surprises this week would probably cancel out any options related gains.

5. earlier this month I had sold straddles on ej, yge, wx, stv. thank God I closed everything out ahead of this collapse. Close, very close. not by the hair on my chinny chin chin.