Strategy validation

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by fan27, Sep 21, 2018.

1. fan27

fan27

When constructing a strategy/algo, the first thing I am interested in is finding a signal/ pattern that has some predictive qualities. To do that, I will backtest the strategy with a stop and a limit order that is a multiple of the ATR and where the stop and limit are equal distance from price. For example:

entry price: 10
    stop: 8
    limit: 12

Let's say I have a strategy that has 100 trades and a 75% win rate (I only care about win rate at this point because I am only testing if the signal has predictive qualities). Not being a stats expert, my approach to validate this strategy would be to run a simulation over the same data set (maybe 10,000 iterations) where I randomly select 100 entry points with the same exit criteria and see what percentage of runs beats a 75% win rate. For example, if only 10% of the runs beat my strategy, then I can say the strategy beats random entry 90% of the time. If this approach is valid, what are meaningful percentages (i.e. strategy beats random entry 10%, 20%, 30%). Would be interested on feedback regarding this methodology for strategy validation or some alternatives. All this being said, ultimately, the strategy will have to be validated via live trading.

Muffhands, ElectricSavant and bpr like this.
  2. There are a few trades like that, but they only occur a couple of times per year... and maybe not even that often. What do you do about the rest of the time??

3. fan27

fan27

Yes. Through my testing strategies that have very high win rates do not have many trades. The key (for me) is to have many high probability strategies so that trade frequency goes up and capital is optimally deployed. That being said, I am at a point where I am trying to best validate the strategies I have.

4. The best validation you can have... is that your plays are in tune with the market's tendancy.

indicator777 likes this.
  5. bpr

bpr