Strategy Desk backtesting results

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Oliver84, Sep 5, 2009.

1. Oliver84

Oliver84

I'm fairly new to trading. I've been messing around with strategies with TD Ameritrade's software and was wondering how accurate these backtesting results are.

I know backtesting can never be right on because in back testing the closes interval is 1 minute but in real time it checks the market every second so since there isn't second-by-second data feeds available, you'll never get right on. But with the 1 minute intra bar setting checked, I was told you can get pretty close.

Anyway, the reason I ask is because I came up with a strategy that is giving me amazing results. I've backtested it till November of last year and every month is seems to give me profits averaging 400%+ per stock. Some times even 1000%+.

The weird thing is that I haven't seen any loss in any of the trades... I know this can't be but I've check a ton of trades and the ones that don't show a profit yet have always been because the formula is still long on the position and it's still up.

My question is, has anyone seen something like this and how close to reality can this be? In backtesting it's given me consistent results for almost a year. I just started testing it live these past couple of days and so far it's been right now. But obviously a couple of days isn't enough to really know. I just wanted to get your opinions before put some real money into this. Thanks!

2. kxvid

kxvid

The most likely cause is a programming error in which your script uses some type of unknowable (future) data to generate its trades. Such a system will only buy when it sees the price rising a certain amount in the future. This will generate impressive results but cannot be replicated in real life since nobody knows future securities prices. So that "buy" signal that always results in a profit cannot be generated.