Strategies for a beginner

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by Lilypond10, Jul 18, 2008.

1. 7/18/2008 6:25:48 PM

Hi everyone

I need advice on a good start up strategy to learn with.

Here’s my current situation….I’m a high school science teacher with the opportunity to retire either this Dec. or at the end of the year. I traded long 8 years ago have but done very little since except some portfolio management so I’m basically starting from scratch.

I’m not able to trade during the day unless I stay home.

My husband day trades (also is an engineer in a lucky situation that allows it). He’s good enough at it that he expects to make it his job in the near future. So he’s a resource for me but not as a teacher. Also his strategies would not be my choice.

I want to pose these questions as a newbie:

• What strategies would you recommend for someone to start experimenting with?
    • Are there strategies that start with the previous day charts and close that I could use the next day?
    • I’m currently reading forums on stockfetcher, here and Brett Steenberger’s sites. What other sites would you recommend?
    • I’m also going through a few books on trading psychology (Disciplined Trader, Trading Zone, Come into my Trading Room and Trading for a Living). Other books please?
    • My husband has set me onto therumpledone to follow. Any others who are good for beginners?

I've picked up filters for fade the move and am looking at these currently. I haven't tried to trade with them except to feed information to my husband on one. He made a successful trade..

Thanks for any help,
    Lily

2. The best teacher and resource I can recommend for new traders as well as experienced is to subscribe for free to
    http://youtube.com/user/SnP500Trader

His nightly lessons on trading are always educational and excellent.

Best to you!

Steve