Strangles and Earnings

Discussion in 'Options' started by kalikahuna, Jun 19, 2006.

1. Hey guys,

So, I'm very new to options trading. I've read "Options as Strategic Investments" and "The Bible of Options Trading".

So, I've been looking into Strangles and Straddles and I have a question: How often stocks that have been trading tightly with low volatility right before earning reports really jump into profitable positions right after earning reports?-"a strategy suggested by Bible of Option Trading"

have any of you had consistent success with this strategy?

2. I'm in no way an expert in options but I do have some experience with strangles/straddles before earnings.
    Yeah, sometimes they workout real nice...but when the stock does nothing and/or the IV's implode it gets ugly quick.

You really want to have a very good understanding on how to offset positions and just have a VERY GOOD understanding of options.

Otherwise it's just gambling.

Other people will be able to give you much better advice.

3. Sign up to this site and start a favorites list, maybe the nasdaq 100 to start for educational purposes. Compare the IV & HV chart to the stock chart for past and current events to gain experience.

http://www.ivolatility.com/manage_favourites.j

4. so ivolatility.com can tell me what the IVs and options price changes were for a stock before and after a bunch of previous earnings report releases?

Also, I was wondering if anyone has tried taking long call/put positions based on MACD trends, ie. buy a ITM call when it crosss 0 going up and buying ITM put when it crosses 0 going down. This idea seems good for at least a quick 1-4 days trending in the right direction. Although, I know a lot of experienced guys will be burn me on this board about how IV could drop and the contract could lose money even if it trends in your desired direction. Has anyone tried this also with consistent success?