Stops?

Discussion in 'Options' started by Neoxx, Jan 3, 2006.

1. Neoxx

Neoxx

Working in a litigious industry, and having witnessed some spectacular mistakes, I'm a keen proponent of risk management. So although I'm new to trading, it feels natural to extend the concepts.

Being a swing trader out of necessity - working long hours (GMT) and with other commitments - while I can review all my open positions on a daily basis, I can't monitor them closely.

I have no particular attachment to the capital in my trading account, all of which I can afford to lose, but I'm fairly risk averse.

I don't want to lose more than 1% of my total account value if a trade goes against me.

I have 2 questions, (mostly concerning ITM/ATM call options)-

1) What's the best way to implement stops with options?

Spend 2% on a position, then place a stop loss order for when the BID price has dropped to 50% of the initial ASK price?

Place conditional sell orders, based on the underlying equity and it's support level?

2) After a nice move, to protect profits, should I simply tighten the stop or place a trailing stop, and how would that work with options?

(long the GLG JAN 25 Call, and the AEM FEB 20 Call since 22nd December)

Many thanks,
    Neoxx

P.S. I use the IB interface, so if someone is familiar with the actual mechanics of doing this, again I'd be grateful for some advice

2. I don't use IB, but I can give you some opinion on your questions. I would first offer a word of caution with options. They are more illiquid than the underlying and therefore your stop could be missed as a result of a big move in the underlying. Trailing stops help to solve this a little bit, but you are still vulnerable to overnight gaps. But then, from experience, I also stay away from anticipated big events such as earnings announcements.