Stops

Discussion in 'Forex' started by jonathan734, May 27, 2009.

1. To start off my question I will just say that I already searched and couldn't find my answer, if someone can point me to a thread that could help I would be glad to read it.

I just started trading forex about 2 weeks ago, and was wondering what most of you guys/gals use for stops? I tried 10 pips but I get stopped out quite a bit even if my calls are right. I am sure my timing is way off, but I usually have the direction right on a 5 min chart, then get stopped. So what do you guys aim for? Thanks for the time.

2. 2:1 risk: reward ratio

50 pips stop loss: 100 pips gain

50 pips should be enough to give you wiggle room -- if you are right -- and also should not kill you in a medium size position

It's all about knowing how to manage your buying power

I try to use only 40 times buying power -- less emotional when a trade moves against and I'm able to stay in a little bit longer

3. I appreciate the insight. What kind of time frame do you usually trade on? I like to be in and out in 15 min or so, is that a losing battle? I only like to make 2-4 trades a day though. 50 pips seems like a lot of wiggle room and on my time frames I am not sure that I could get out 100pip gains. I will play around and see what I can do

4. your stop loss should be no more than 3% of your account. So say you have 5k in trading capital, then 150 is the max $ value you can risk on any trade.

Look at eur/usd on april 20th..we made a bottom. near 2896. the next day price broke previous candle's high (for me this is a long signal) I buy...my stop would be 2896, my entry, 3037.

Thats 144 pips from my entry to where i want my stop.. i take the 150 risk, and divide by the 144, and i get 1.06... this tells me i can take this trade on 1 lot with a 144 pip stop loss, and be well within the 3% risk limit