Stop-loss: Trail or not?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Ates, Nov 24, 2019.

1. Ates

Ates

I'm a futures trader and i trade e-mini micro ES contracts for now. No doubt that this market is very complicated. That's why most of traders lose money. I realised that I move my stop-loss to BE very quickly. And decided to think what else can I do instead of moving stop-loss to BE?

By moving stop to BE you are only paying commissions. Still a losing trade! However, your probability being stopped out is now higher than the time you executed the trade (especially if you are trading breakouts). I realised that the best thing to do is not to move stop-loss but close half of my position at 1:1 and i'm still in a free trade. Now, my probability being stopped out is less than moving my stop to BE.

I have not tried this a lot but i know my probabilities. You need to trade at least 2 contracts each time.

What do you think about this approach?

.sigma and MrKJoe like this.
  2. traider

traider

you should build a simulator to model this properly. HFT have made scalping almost impossible these days as you are competing with them

MrKJoe likes this.
  3. Ates

Ates

I did one. 41% win rate in EURUSD and profitable. However i have matched it. So still my own strategy beats this.

MrKJoe likes this.
  4. tomorton

tomorton

I run trend-following trades and almost always attach a trailing stop-loss to them, based on volatility by ATR. If the trade starts to fail it will normally show me some weakening TA which I can use to justify a manual exit well before the volatility TSL is hit.

Because the trades are trend-following, weaker TA giving an exit signal is also an indication of improving set-up for a new entry. I'm happy to manually exit on a pull-back in the morning only to find I enter with a new position in the same direction that night when the trend has resumed. I ignore transaction costs when making trade decisions.