STOP LOSS ORDER (Problems)

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by Dar Spring, Oct 15, 2006.

1. I’m a novice trader & purchased a stock last week that had been very beat-up. Set my stop at 10% below the purchase price.

The stock dropped 11% then rebounded to what I paid for it within 4 days!

I was not planning on holding the stock for too long (days or weeks) & was going to up my stop as the stock went up. I have made winning trades before (over a few weeks time frame, gold last year for example, sold at a nice profit).

All in all I am down a few percent in my armature recent trading hobby.

Any tips on stop loss orders?

I understand they are to protect against a major loss, but it seems they can “lock-in” losses also. If I have never heard of a stop loss I would have done very well trading thus far.

Any comments would be appreciated, this is my first thread & I am really learning a lot through reading the archived posts, thanks….

DAR

2. Stopping losses is the only way I know to protect me from experiencing big catastrophic losses.

I can give no "tip". My method is simple. I trade as if I am fishing. I place a small bet. The bet is analogous to a piece of bait. Usually I lose the bait. Sometimes I catch the big fish. When trading stocks I usually lose a small bet. Sometimes I hold a big winner. The big winner pays for all the small losses.

I prefer to hold positions longer than a few days or weeks.

3. Was there a special reason to choose 10%? It is always best to choose the stop-level non-abitrarily, so choose a logical point, eg. past a recent major resistance level. But, be careful with that too, because often the market tests these levels rather wildly, sometimes pushing through the level in hope of finding... stoploss-orders.