Stone Kettle Soup Project: An Onion

Discussion in 'Journals' started by rlb21079, Apr 6, 2003.

1. The following is a post found at: http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=15880&perpage=6&pagenumber=8

Firstly, I am a beginner trader with too small an account to day trade. I am looking to make trades lasting days, and sometimes weeks. My three most profitable trades have been in AMZN (currently the only stock I follow) and have been made without the use of a mechanical system.

My basic assumption is that with a bear market that has lasted as long as this one has, it is only reasonable to bet on the long side. Certainly the market could go down further, but I feel using tight stops there is greater reward on the long side at this point in time. As a result, what follows is my attempt to create a universe of stocks which I will either trade as I have traded AMZN or upon which I will apply a more mechanical Buy/Sell system.

The filter process went as follows:
    (1) Get the total # of stocks in the NYSE and Nasda markets
    (2) Remove all stocks with a falling 200 day EMA
    (3) Remove all stocks trading for less than $5 as of 4/4/03
    (4) Remove all stocks with a daily volume of less than 100,000 shares (a 20 day MA was employed)
    (5) Remove all counter-cyclical stocks - Searching for issues which had a falling 200 day EMA between 03/03/2003 and 04/03/2003
    (6) Create a list of stocks with an RSI above 50 and below 70 (outperforming, but not overextended) relative to there respective markets.

Backtesting is a problem since the idea is initially based on current market conditions. Also, I have yet to determine a system of trading. I have, however, begun marking some basic points of resistance/support based on the methods of Trader Vic.
    -----------------------------------------------