Stocks VS Futures

Discussion in 'Trading' started by YoungOne, Nov 27, 2007.

1. YoungOne

YoungOne

I was wondering if others could share their opinions about trading stocks versus futures. I'm talking about day trading. I've noticed that many go to futures after stocks, why is this? Liquidity? Is it better to learn stocks than move over or just start with futures? I'd appreciate any input, mainly from people who have traded both or switched from one instrument to the other.

2. plyka

plyka

It's like a pitcher coming out of highschool or college --first he goes to the minor league farms and then on to the majors...i hope I have my analogy right since i hate baseball.

Stocks are the minor leagues and futures are the majors. Futures is a zero-sum game and the other players are basically the big boys. Stocks are positive sum over a period of time ---so even during the day they are positive sum, although to a small extent.

I've never tried to daytrade stocks before. I day trade the futures and that's where my time is spent. With stocks I'm more of a swing trader looking to hold positions from weeks to months.

3. Futures don't have day trading restrictions like stocks do. (Assuming you don't have 25K in your account). When I traded index futures, boy could I churn that account... like there was no tomorrow.. Much easier to blow up with futures.

4. piezoe

piezoe

Futures -- large leverage, favorable tax treatment, no wash rule to worry about. And with index futures, much less time spent researching and data mining as opposed to stock picking and trading.

The advantage of trading stocks over futures, however, is that your less likely to have a load of pigs delivered to your house. :D

5. Classic!

6. who does not want crude oil, or the (dead) componet of livestock on stilts out in front of their mcmansion?

7. YoungOne

YoungOne