stockbroker trainee vs. prop trader trainee

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ktlolo, Sep 13, 2006.

1. ktlolo

ktlolo

Hi everyone, I am new to this field and I am wondering if there are any differences between a stockbroker trainee and a prop. trader trainee, in terms of work functionality or compensation.

Thanks!

2. You do know that a stock broker is a salesman don't you? Most of them don't know shit as far as what is going on. They regurgitate the daily brokerage strategy.

At least most of them work on a % basis of money managed now. Used to be where they would actually sell inventory - whatever the firm was trying to push. It can be a very scummy job if you work for the wrong firm. I lasted all of a few months as a broker and went straight into trading after. No training back in those days though (1987).

3. I can offer a little here - I was a stockbroker for 4.5 years before deciding to become a full-time trader. I can tell you this - you will learn NOTHING about trading in your stockbroker training. You will learn how to sell. And sell some more. The firm will tell you what to sell. Don't even bother mentioning technical analysis or anything like that. Your job is to sell - mutual funds, annuities, managed funds, insurance, etc.

If you are interested in trading - day-to-day plays, hour-by-hour, minute-by-minute - don't bother wasting your time as a broker trainee. If you want to sell and like working on commission, the broker is a good way to go.

In case I was not clear, as a broker your job is to SELL. Forget about active trading or even coming up with your own ideas.

4. I obviously agree with Brownsfan above. We get quite a number of stockbrokers that want to be traders...(they are a little harder to train than those from other vocations, LOL..but that's another story).

As my brother says "brokers make you broker" and it's hard to keep generating commish when your clients hate you.