stock screening - something i'm confused about

Discussion in 'Trading' started by gabe, Apr 16, 2007.

1. gabe

gabe

although I'm no expert (yet!!), I know I am getting better at analyzing these stocks. recognizing patterns is becoming 2nd nature and I realize theres a little more to it than that, but there is one thing I'm not quite sure of.

How do you guys find these stocks? do you just pull up a list of some particular industry or exchange and start looking at charts?? I think I've seen people mention they use some programs to run through a bunch of stocks and ID the ones that might be making moves soon. I am pretty computer literate but I have no idea how to do anything like.

Is it something obvious I'm not seeing.

Any help is appreciated,

gabe

2. RiverRat

RiverRat

IBD industry groups, high volume stocks for the day and ibd relative strength are some ways to get a list going.

3. dsq

dsq

if your daytrading you can get long or short any stock...
    If you wanna buy and hold more than a day then its important to choose the best stocks in the best performing industries.For example:xom,rig in oil....and to also stay away from weak sectors like banking: c,bac,wm-altho that may have changed today.

I really only like to play the bigger market cap and biggest volume stocks on nyse.In fact i trade long and short mostly DOW stocks.I know what i am dealing with with DOW 30 stocks.
    I hate surprises and small caps and nasdaq stocks can tuirn 180 deg in no time and catch you with your pants down.
    I just had too many heart attacks dealing with smaller stocks and nasdaq and ive outgrown the rollercoaster ride they provide.

But when your young nasdaq is fun and wild.

I am more conservative now and like buying and shorting intraday, stocks like :vz,t,ge,c,pfe,mrk,ko.
    I try to scalp 10-20 cents and then get the F out!

You should maybe stick to the top 10 dollar volume leaders on nyse and nasdaq like msft,c aapl,intc,csco,ge,vz,t,mrk,aa,dd.