Stock price v. option price

Discussion in 'Options' started by ericmoles, Aug 17, 2008.

1. Hey there. I'm pretty new to options and some questions.

I want to use in the money equity options in order not to tie up as much capital as buying the stock.

If I decide a stock is going to do something, how do I know if I'm getting a fair deal on the option? Do you ever use market orders on options?

Once I'm in the trade, I'll want to base my exit on the stock price. Can I correlate a future stock price to an option price either for a stop loss or profit target and set my stop and limit order bracket on the actual option price? Or, should I set some kind of alert where when the stock hits value 'x' the system enters an order to sell the option at the market?

If I understand this correctly, it should work like this:

Stock is 100. At 100 I decide I want to go long and am expecting a 10 pt move. Profit target 110, stop 95. I buy a ITM call with a delta of .7 for 10.00 (I'm not sure if this price is anywhere near realistic, I just used it for easy numbers). Would I be expecting the call to appreciate to 17.00 and my stop to be 6.5?

Are there some markets where you can use market orders for your stop and not get slipped too bad and others where you would never dream of using a market order and would want to use a stop/limit order?

Thanks for the advice. Sorry if this doesn't make much sense. It is late.

2. sugar

sugar

As a rule, you shouldn't use market orders in your options trading. Maybe you can do it with SPY or QQQQ options but I don't recommend it. I'm trading ES/EW and DAX options, both are pretty good markets for options trading. Even so, maket orders don't works for these.

On the other hand, if you want place your limit order before stock price reach your goal you must take in to account your IV options prevision for that price. It's another added difficulty.