Stock picking

Discussion in 'Trading' started by MiniGrasshopper, Jan 15, 2004.

1. Im new to trading..and been reading around alot here lately and other sites...and everyone seems to find heaps and heaps of stocks to trade..and im rather stumped...

how do ya's all find the stocks to pick (what scanner..what criteria etc..) if anyone could gimme a helping hand on this type of information it would be appreciated.

ps: iv found loads of stock scaners ..just they dont help much if ya stuck on what to add criteria for them..

2. forget scanners....we just do whatever Mr. Market says to do..:D

Only kidding....

look up canslim under search and their is a lot of stuff...good luck

3. nkhoi

nkhoi

he is not kidding :D

4. First decide on a concept of what you want to scan for or trade. Then it is easy to do.

5. I had the same question when I first looked into daytrading. It took me a while to learn that a successful trader develops his/her own scanning criteria and trading plan. No one will or should give you specific scanning criteria to follow. Here's why:

A specific trading plan will only work for a specific trader with a specific psychological profile.

In other words, everybody is different. What works for one person will not work for another. For a trading plan to work for you, you first have to have confidence in the plan. In the end, the only plan that you will have confidence in is a plan that you developed yourself and tested over time.

There are a million trading strategies out there, and every one of them will work for a particular person, and not work for everyone else. If you truly want to be a successful trader, you must spend the time and energy to find and develop the trading plan that works for you.