Stay with Scottrade?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by otherguy, May 13, 2003.

1. otherguy

otherguy

The question is should I stay with Scottrade.? I am new to trading, very new, no doubt clueless, I started in February of 2003. I daytrade scalp with some success but I am on a definite learning curve. Trade 2500 shares of MSFT or INTC at go, commission to Scottrade roundtrip is $24.00 the fills are good, they happen instantly or in seconds. The charts and streaming quotes are adequate for my level of expertise.

What advantage is there to changing to say IB?

thanks for input

2. JT47319

JT47319

Once upon a time, I am ashamed to admit, I had a Scottrade account. No more.

Its like going from 486 computer to a Pentium II. Direct access all the way, preferably with a universal account so you can do the e-minis as well as stocks (IB and MB Trading for example). And a separate charting system like eSignal.

3. ohadi

ohadi

agreed. in about 3 months of trying, NOT ONCE did scottrade have shares for me to short. ib and esignal work well for me.

4. It doesn't cost anything to keep it if you don't use it to trade. So, you could keep it in addition to another trading account for backup quotes. The free realtime DJ News Scottrade gives you is not a bad deal either.

5. I am fairly new to the game and also started with Scottrade. I opened an IB account a couple months ago, and I now have about an equal capital balance b/w the two. When I don't have access to my cable connection I use Scottrade to keep in touch with quotes b/c it is quicker.

My biggest problem was the commissions, b/c I don't trade too many shares at a time - you don't have this problem. The deal breaker for me was the inability to short when I wanted.