Stay or go ?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rjmahan, Mar 25, 2004.

1. rjmahan

rjmahan

OK,
    This is likely a more unusual question, but anyone who has encountered anything similar or who has any opinion no matter how hostile ... Please go ahead... Please read on at least as it is more entertaining than most of what is on the internet...

In 2001 I graduated Oxford with a 2:1 in Economics and Politics, solid Alevels, no work experience. Fact of the matter is I hated Oxford, being from a poor, lower class(ish) background. I didnt fit in. I kept to myself and so had no extra curriculars, no work experience. Fact is I pretty much had a break down.
    I had a few interviews where people said I was smart but for whatever reason - they wernt going to give me a job.

At this time I became interested in trading and did some paper trades. These went well. I did a couple of real trades, these went well too... I began to think... maybe I can make money from this....

I realised I needed more time to work on this. I also realized that the dole office was getting antsy. I needed time to study and trade, money to buy food and a roof over my head. I signed up with a spreadbetting company and got on a plane to teach English in China.

Real easy job - no money to speak of - just enough to live. I only taught 12 hours a week and I really enjoy it. (Incidentally China is really cool and if you get to go and meet the people there it is well worth doing. Keep your eyes on your wallet and you will be fine).
    I now teach Economics to masters students in a University in China, unfortunately over the past 2 odd years I havent succeeded at the trading. I have learnt alot, fundamentals, TA etc. But I am down 15% after a pretty volatile ride. Allthough I had about 4 months where i ran the account up 60%. I have only been trading a small ammount of capital as I really see this as a testing / learning thing, not a full out, time to get rich thing YET...