Stats Monkey Journal & Poll

Discussion in 'Journals' started by mauzj, Jun 4, 2003.

1. mauzj

mauzj

Hi,

I'm a Stats Monkey by trade with no career related trading experience, little other trading experience, but with a big desire to move into this area.

Why do I want to be a trader???

a - My first interviewer asked me; "How would you cope with having nothing to do all day?"
    b - My fourth interviewer told me; "You can do anything you want... work 3 hours a day... take 28 days holiday a month... as long as you make money!"
    c - All interviewers have asked me; "What motivates you? Money is not the wrong answer in this case."

Anyway, after numerous failed second interviews (I always get to the second and fall on my face!) I've come to the conclusion that the only thing I can really do is to get some experience of my own, and this is through trading. My job in a financial services firm has stringent compliance regulations, of which the weakest is in the FX area - presumably because you can't manipulate this. I have therefore started trading the Oanda FX game, and will move into real cash once I've got all the forms sorted (I need to open a USD account first as I'm a UK citizen). This will
    a) Expose me to the psychological pressures of trading
    b) Force my interviewers to take me more seriously (they seem to deride paper trading, but after reading about the lack of money management by students who win trading competitions I'm not surprised!)
    c) Give me a head start when I get that elusive position.

So after all this rambling, I'm going to stick a screen shot detailing my trades over the last 24 hours. 3/4 were correct. 1/4 was wrong due to a stupid decision. However, my profits were low due to FEAR!

Please feel free to deride my trading skills. A wise man once told me "pain is weakness leaving the body!" so nasty words will help make me stronger.

Thank you for your patience (you must have it if you've got this far!).

The Stats Monkey.