Statistics Question

Discussion in 'Trading' started by tatsimon, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Hello,

Is there a statistics theory that confirms weather an occurrence is random or a valid pattern?

Lets say when there is a situation "A", "B" will occur.

How do I know if the occurrence "B" is random or not?

If in 3/3 cases "B" occurs, is it random or "lucky"?
    4/5 cases?
    10/10 still random or is there a pattern?

Thanks

2. Look into chi-square test.

3. drcha

drcha

I'm a statistician among other things, but I don't want to belabor this. There is no way to absolutely, definitively "prove" anything with statistics. All you can do is show the probability of something based on observations-and more observations are always better than fewer. So-called physical "laws" are only based on observations. So the question come back to you: which probability is "good enough" for what you want to know. In the medical/scientific statistics world, a 5% chance of occurring randomly is a commonly used cutoff, but you would use a much tighter one in other fields of endeavor, such as designing a bridge or a building to withstand natural conditions.

I'm not a meteorologist, but I did take a meteorology class several years ago, and I recall the professor telling us he had just been to a meteorology conference at which the consensus was that no one really know how to predict weather very accurately. Of course, you can watch the news and learn that. I picture all the meteorologists agreeing to this the first day and then blowing off the rest of the conference in the bar. At least I hope that is what they did.