Statistical Question

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by Safetrading, Jan 11, 2011.

1. I trade Crude Oil and recently came up with a new scalping method. With a little over 100 sim trades I have an 86.8% win rate. To do this however, my reward to risk ratio is 1:4 by the time commissions are taken into account.

With the data I have, there must be a way to to determine the optimum number of consecutive winning trades to use for calling it a day, or another words that trading past X number of winning trades would be less profitable in the long run.

I'm not very good with higher level math, if anybody has any thoughts on this it would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Safetrading

2. NoDoji

NoDoji

Am I reading this right - you're targeting X ticks profit and willing to risk 4X to achieve that? How many ticks are you targeting for a profit?

Why would you do that on a trading instrument that provides many types of with-trend and channel trading setups throughout the day where a reward:risk ratio of 2:1 or better is not only achievable, but very likely?

As for your question, if you have an 86.8% win rate, why not just put on as many trades as you can so you can manage to grind out a living with this high risk/low reward strategy?

One last question, what time period do your 100 sim trades encompass - a week, a month...?

3. Picking up nickels in front of a steamroller.

4. rosy2

rosy2

search for hitting time algorithms or any stochastic calc tutorials.

5. drcha

drcha

I'm not sure this is the question you want to ask. The process you are following to trade does not "know" when you give up. Maybe what you want to know is what percent of your account to put at risk at any one time. Is that right?

6. Thanks for the serious response. Sorry to give you too much info, but I will explain why I'm taking this unusual tact.