stategy research feedback

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by sped1111, Oct 13, 2002.

1. sped1111

sped1111

Hello all
    I have been a member of this site for a few months, and yes I am a newbie and aspiring trader. This is my first post and it is in regards to a search for information about a strategy. I have gotten bits and pieces of systems from this site but would like your comment on sites such as www.futures7.com that sell systems. I understand that it would be wrong to ask for a system but thought having one from a site like this as a sample or a point of reference would be a good start. I have researched all the components of a system such as the moving averages, indicators, indexes but would like some guidance regarding putting them together even if it is a basic starting point.
    I have a good understanding of the other aspects of what makes a good trader such as not being undercapitalized, pro's and con's of pro firms and going it alone. Of course the need for a good internet connection and excellent equipment. And as of late it seems to me a good mentor is essential in avoiding time and money being wasted.
    Please don't think I'm asking for secrets to be told, simply point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for your feedback.

2. I would recommend you get some backtesting s/w and experiment with various approaches. There are many systems detailed at www.wealthlab.com. The biggest expense is not buying a system, it is the money you can lose trading it. It is pretty easy to curve-fit a system so that it produces great past results but invariably they will blow up in real time trading. You might also check out www.futurestruth.com. They've been around a long time and have a pretty good reputation for system testing.

3. sped,