Starting Out

Discussion in 'Trading' started by donnie, Aug 5, 2002.

1. donnie

donnie

Hi, I just got here, I'm new to this world. I am interested -- my mother recently passed away and it's been a very sad time. I would like to invest a small amount of money she has left to me (after the gov't. takes most). Just wondering your thoughts on general investments these days. Aggressive is good as I am 40 yrs. old w/ two small kid... Thanks in advance. :)

2. BSAM

BSAM

If you are "new to this world" and you are interested in "investing", I'd suggest staying on the sidelines for now. Bad, bad market right now for investing IMO. What do you suppose would happen to your funds if George decided to drop something big on top of Iraq say next month? Try to start learning right now. Watch the markets a while. Save yourself lots of agony.

BSAM

3. I think you should wait until the next down leg is over. What happens when consumers really cut their personal spending, and banks pull in lending.

Price earnings ratios are still high by historical standards, and the projected growth rates are falling. And the charts look bad. This is not the time to buy! The only ones telling you to buy now, are the ones that have been wrong all along.

Discretion is the better part of valor.

4. Usually when things are bleak.....if your time frame is 20 plus years is the best time to invest.

Investing during 99 would have killed you. Now for Long Term investing is much better.

I would recommend opening up the phone book and calling a financial planner. They can show you the proper way to invest for retirement by being well diversified and the many options available. There are lots of tax plan strategies and other vehicles that will fit you. With what has happened you need to be able to see the entire picture of what is to come and be well planned.

trading and Long term investing are 2 different things.

Robert

5. Invest in your mattress. (just imho)