Starting out...?! PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by RichnJenK, Jan 14, 2007.

1. RichnJenK

RichnJenK

Im new to the stock market scene and have been trying to do my research by learning as much as I can before diving in and making a huge mistake financially. Im 25 years old, with what I consider to be a good paying job but am looking to make my money work for me and be able to take care of my future family. Im not looking to be a millionaire, although it would be nice. Im simply looking for a comfortable future for whomever I might have a life with. As heroic as that might sound, I am on here looking for help to get my feet wet. I have little college experience behind me because of missed opportunities but I consider myself to be a smart individual with a history of being mathematically capable. I like to be pointed in the right direction and take it from there. Ive spent a couple of days reading all there is on Investopedia.com. Very informative. I found this site as well and thought that talking to people that consider themselves "elite" would be a good place to start asking questions...

Any advice for starting out and where do I even begin?! Find a broker? Get software? The right software? Please Help.

2. Read:

1. Technical analysis of the financial markets

2. Idiots guide to day trading like a pro (more than just day trading)

3. Come into my trading room (elder)

4. Trading for a living (elder)

5. Trading in the zone (douglas)

6. The disciplined trader (by mark douglas)

7. The master swing trader

I dont like the books by Van k Tharp, but others will probably tell you to read them.

Learn to swing or position trade before you try day trading. IB (interactive brokers is popular here on ET), I use scottrade and dont have any complaints. A lot of the material in the book above is repetitive, but worth reading so it sticks in your head.