Starting in futures versus forex

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Georgii, Apr 9, 2009.

1. Georgii

Georgii

Hello all,

I'm new to trading. Initially I was considering daytrading stocks, because that is what I understood. But I don't have $25,000 to throw into a brokerage account.

I learned about the mini ES contract, and it seems that you pretty much can get away with starting on a $10K account for an intraday strategy, which is doable for me. I eventually want to make the move into trading commodities.

On the other end a number of people have told me its a better idea to start with Forex. One futures trader insistently told me that futures is probably the worst place to get started, because of the very high leverage and volatility.

Personally, for some reason I have no interest in the currency market and can't bring myself to get interested in it. It smells of bucket shop, I hear all these scam stories and that market makers will try to kill you on some trades. For a beginner, is it a good idea to be dealing with such a scenario?

Besides, I figure if I'm going to eventually move into commodities, why not start with futures and learn the instrument cold instead of wasting my time on FX which I don't imagine I'll be trading?

Basically, the big plus I'm told about Forex is that you can't lose more than your margin deposit. But what's the big deal, can't you just keep a firm stop on a futures account which prevents you from a margin call?

Any opinions are appreciated...

2. cvds16

cvds16

you could trade currency futures ...:)

3. New trader + daytrading = financial suicide

Learn to trade in demo account, and forget about opening live account with 10K.

Anyway, both futures and FX can be traded successfully, there are some very decent Forex brokers that are regulated , all you have to do is do some research instead of listening to what others tell you. Also if you think futures are volatile, then have a look at intraday FX charts.