starting as an options local on euronext

Discussion in 'Options' started by cvds16, May 14, 2005.

1. cvds16

cvds16

Has anybody done this ? Is this realistic ? can it be done ? How much money do you need ? Where can you find clearinghouses ? What can you "realisticly" expect to make ? What are the costs ? What do you need for autoquoting software ? Can you do it alone or do you need to be with a group of people ?
    Like you see lots of questions, I have traded in the nineties for an options market making firm in Belgium so I know my greeks and have done some option arbitrage through IB in DIA options trading something like 200 options a day making 500-1000 USD out of that mainly by beying on the bid or the ask and hedging my delta-positions, (this all changed abdruptly when IB started asking cancellation costs because i canceled something like 800 times each day) so I have some experience. I am American but would prefer to stay in Belgium and have normal working hours. If anybody would have some advice or remarks feel free to give them to me. Not sure if I can meet the requirements but sure anxcious to know.

2. Yes it can be done.

You gotta do more research though, start at the exchange website.

3. cvds16

cvds16

I had allready looked there before I started this thread, so I know theoretically it can be done, but I would like to hear some practical answers from people who know a little bit more.

4. just21

just21

Call Fortis global clearing, in London or Brussells, about an account and RTS for the software. If you are looking for a market then try the currency and s&p options on Globex. You will have them virtually to yourself and I am looking for someone to tighten the wide markets for my trades! The advantage of doing this remotely is that you can make a tighter market. On the floor you would be frozen out if you didn't quote the same market as the rest of the pit.

5. cvds16

cvds16