Starting a brokerage based on Open-Source platform

Discussion in 'Forex Brokers' started by mcgene4xpro, May 8, 2013.

1. Hi

I am trying to evaluate the advantage/disadvantages associated with starting my brokerage using an open source platform, specifically, M4 " Not MT4"
    http://www.m4platform.com/brokerage.aspx
    the advantages is quite obvious. However, selecting a trading platform other than the most popular one would bring some risk.

Also, M4 seems not a complete suite that will require a considerable degree of on-going development. I have seen some reputable and successful brokerages have their own platform such as Duka "jforex" , Oanda"fxTrade". Thus, having a private brand platform has nothing to do with the success of a brokerage.

No bias here to any direction. I am just trying to find out if it would be a good decision for me or not. Specially, i am not a programmer myself.

Your input is much appreciated.

Thanks

2. No response !!...

It seems a very bad idea.. :)

3. Primarly no, you just think that people are ready to answer a complex question the moment you ask it without you paying.

It is a bad idea. It is good enough to analyze it, but "open source" is not something that will sell it- the rest of the business plan must be there.

4. Humpy

Humpy

Just for a starter question - what sort of capital reserves have you for this project ?

To the nearest 10 million will do.

Lots of new FX brokers have popped up recently.
    Some like Alpari have set up in another country.
    Some are hq ed in some dodgy countries like Cyprus, Nigeria, Mauritious etc.

What would make yours special ?

5. My intention was to discuss and get opinions about technology providers not my business plan.

I have a new business plan and i think i could provide a better service for traders.

The capital associated is enough. However, i know there are many packages out there that could get you start cheap. Naturally, with a compromise.