start up cash

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by scotch750, Jul 20, 2005.

1. Before I ask my question, a little background about myself. I'm a graduate student enrolled in a clinical psychology doctoral as well as an MBA program. I plan to hit the ground running trading the markets after graduating (sole-prop). I will primarily trade a handful of Nasdaq stocks with a scalping/daytrading style. To raise sufficient capital, I have two colleagues (their pretty loaded financially) that are willing to drop some money in my hands to put to good use. They said that they'd give me 20 grand a piece and informed me that if I make it happen for them great, if I lose it all, ah shit it, that's life.

I'm thinking that I will offer them some kind of incentive for giving their money to an inexperienced trader. Something along the lines of giving them 100% of the net profit after tax for 6 months based on their share of my trading account and then take a 15% cut of their share of the money for managing their money after the six months. Does this sound about right or am I dreaming?

2. Might be easier to just just roll those bills up and smoke them.

3. lescor

lescor

Why not just save up $5k yourself, open an account at a prop firm, keep all of your profits and not risk ruining friendships?

4. Thanks for your wisdom as it is greatly appreciated. Your other posts are equally as informative. If I have any questions about rolling bills and smoking em, I'll pm you.

5. Honestly Scotch, it really isn't as easy as dedicating a year or two to learn it and then suddenly you can't move for money.

A couple of things:

1) If you are going to be self taught IT WILL take you longer. Like someone else said, perhaps going to a prop firm (and not bringing any money to the table) would be the best idea.