Start-up Capital - Loans, etc...

Discussion in 'Trading' started by mdhtrader, May 24, 2008.

1. Alright, so I want to get into trading. I know this is what I want to do for a living, as I know I have the discipline and dedication to succeed and that I want to go with a prop firm. Problem is, I don't have $20-30k anywhere. Parents aren't rich so can't go there...and saving this amount will take too damn long even though I live way below my means...

So my question...do you think banks, gov't, etc have a loan or something out there? Considering its day trading would it be difficult to obtain? Ideas?

Anyone with experience, advice (or even an amount I could borrow, heh) would be greatly appreciated.

A little about me: college degree, good credit, eagle scout (for what its worth.)

2. Try over at prosper.com

3. You can go prop with 5k. If you are serious about trading you should be able to save that before too long. In the meantime, if you don't already, get a real time data feed and a realistic simulator. If you can make money in real time sim trading maybe then you should think about borrowing. I don't recommend it.

Being smart and motivated doesn't guarantee success. Most people get into this expecting to do well, and most fail miserably.

4. try panhandling, check couch for change,

5. thanks for the responses so far, which firms allow 5k to start? I could probably travel and stay somewhere for awhile, 'cause there are no prop firms in Seattle...so I'd most likely be remote..

6. Joab

Joab

I want to open a McDonald's franchise but I don't have the 2 million to buy one.

Why do you think trading is any different?

Get a good job and save up 25k plus 2 years living expenses and you have a chance.

Even if your lucky enough to get some good training at a prop firm.