Sso?

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by yamazee, May 26, 2009.

1. yamazee

yamazee

Hi Guys,
    I'm fairly new at this so I have to warn you that I am somewhat a simpleton when it comes to trading and investing. I am currently holding 1,000 shares of SSO that was at a cost of 26.86 per share. I dont know much about what I am doing with it other than researching what that ETF was at when the markets were better VS where it is now is a difference of night and day. My though when I purchased it was that at 26.8 per share if I hold it long enough it can only go up over the long run. So I guess I have made it a fairly long play.

What are some of your thoughts on SSO? Do you think holding it long term is good or bad idea? I am not trading to make a living and only put in what I can be comfortable loosing. I also did the same with URE at 3.82 per share. Although I am loosing a few bucks on both right now, I still gotta believe both will come up significantly in the long run. Especially the URE, at somepoint housing and real estate has to recover some? Any opinions form some you more experienced folks would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your insight.:confused: :confused:

2. yamazee

yamazee

geeez, thanks for all the replies!! :mad:

3. l2tradr

l2tradr

Read up on how leveraged ETFs do over the long term, understand the math behind it and you'll have your answer. Hint: SSO is meant to track DAILY performance on a 2:1 basis. It's path dependant.

4. it's S.O.S.

5. Hi Yamazee!
    Congratulations on your SSO. I envy your decision, specially when you do not have to bother with the small daily fluctuations and your intentions is to hold it for the long run.
    When the S&P500 was on the middle 1500 in the last quarter of 2007, SSO was trading around 96, and 14 back in March when the S&P was below 700.