Spy Options Paper Trade, possible?

Discussion in 'Options' started by trading_time, Nov 19, 2009.

1. I am a futures trader so bare with my ignorance of options.

#1. When selling a call and a put this is called? and is it naked?

Three weeks ago,
    I sold the 113 strike call @ about a buck
    and sold the 105 put at about a buck

#2. What if I don't want to wait for expire and close the position now assuming it was a real trade and I had 100 lots or more maybe 500 of each, could I cover? I read that out the money options you have sold are nearly impossible to cover, but with SPY high volume could I do this?

#3. What if I wait for expiry and both put and call options are out of the money. ??

Thanks for assistance fellow traders.

TT

2. "#1. When selling a call and a put this is called? and is it naked?

Three weeks ago,
    I sold the 113 strike call @ about a buck
    and sold the 105 put at about a buck"

This is usually called a "strangle" and yes it is naked if you do not own any underlying shares or offsetting contracts at different strikes.

"#2. What if I don't want to wait for expire and close the position now assuming it was a real trade and I had 100 lots or more maybe 500 of each, could I cover? I read that out the money options you have sold are nearly impossible to cover, but with SPY high volume could I do this?"

Yes you can cover. You did not mention the month of expiration - but if the month is November, the contracts are quoted as follows: 113 calls .01 x .02 and 105 puts .02 x .03. The volume is in the thousands for both so there would be no problem closing out.

"
    #3. What if I wait for expiry and both put and call options are out of the money. ??"

Then they expire worthless! However, it is sometimes better to close the contracts earlier to avoid risk and make better use of the funds.

Hope this helps.

AZD

3. Appreciate the reply arizonadreamer.