Spy futures

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by raf_bcn, Jun 9, 2017.

1. raf_bcn

raf_bcn

Hi
    I really didn't know there were Spy futures.
    But , why Spy futures are in cntango and not in backwardation as is supposed to be.

tommcginnis likes this.
  2. Benihana

Benihana

I believe it is because dividends are worth more than the carrying cost. If you notice, the nasdaq (NQ) is the way you are thinking it should be. NQ doesn't have very many dividend stocks, so the carrying cost is more than you would take in from dividends. This is just what I have heard. I'm no expert in this area though.

java likes this.
  3. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

The ES SEP future is 2.5pts behind the SPX -- for the last 10-15 years, it's been (at the transfer to a new "front month") ~8pts. This is the second time I've noticed this -- MAR-JUN and DEC-MAR being the prior two that I can recall with surety.

We haven't seen any material rho ("interest rate") issues in a long time. I haven't dug up the equations (and don't recall them off the top of my head), but I suspect that the futures are gaining value because they are *suspected* of being in a higher interest rate regime than the current. By how much? Well, I'll start by backing out ~6pts of ES worth out of 2440 or so, and aim that over 3 months. I don't know, but it makes sense to me. (Enough to be my straw man.)

4. I really didn't know there were Spy futures.
    But , why Spy futures are in cntango and not in backwardation as is supposed to be.[/QUOTE]

Equity derivative contracts adjust for any dividend events during the term of the trade. Most exchange traded equity derivatives reduce the forward value by the present value of any future dividend (or other capital distributions) payments. Accordingly, if the value of the dividend exceeds the interest rate (cost of carry) then the contracts will trade backwardation.