SPX b/o spread size- a real question about "THEY"

Discussion in 'Options' started by resinate, Oct 27, 2003.

1. I have been trading SPX options on and off for a few years and daily for most of this year.

I am used to the regular bid/ask spread to be 1.00 on SPX options priced between 5-10. The last few days I have noticed that it has grown to 1.20 on these same options.

I have a copy of the cboe rules and can only find the spread size limits for equity options which have been cited here before; .50 for options priced 5-10. I also searched the cboe web site with no success.

Obviously this increase in spread size to 120$ further complicates trading spx options and seems to be decreasing liquidity. Does anyone have knowledge of the applicable rules and/or insights into this apparent change?

Thanks

2. optionable ETF's are killing OEX so 'they' adapted at the expense of the individual investor.

3. Well, as far as I know, spx options have been one of the growing contracts taking away volume from oex....

4. white17

white17

I trade almost exclusively OEX and it seems to me that with the contraction of VIX, (except the past couple sessions) spreads have narrowed a bit. That would make sense if SPX is taking volume, but I think it's volatility related. If thats correct why is SPX getting wider? Maybe demand, maybe it's just "they".

5. ktm

ktm

I trade the SPs as well and have noticed the wide gaps. The only reason the spreads are as wide as they are, is because they can get away with it. I put out limit orders and step in front of them all the time. If more people did this, they would either have to tighten their spreads, or biz would suffer. Unfortunately, the volume is not yet sufficient for the masses to bring in the spreads, but it's coming...and so is Eurex.

6. I agree that the only way to trade these b/a spreads is to cut them. I have been doing that for years......