spurious returned emails

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by AAAintheBeltway, Jan 20, 2003.

1. The last couple of weeks I have received in my email three or four purported "returned to sender" messages. Only problem is I never sent them in the first place. The addressees were typical bogus spam type stuff. They were not in my sent folder either. Each of these returns had an attached file that supposedly was the original message that was being returned. I'm no expert but I knew enough not to open those attachments. Any ideas what this is?

2. If the spammer just put "return to sender" in the subject line, then there is little you can do. If they spoofed your email address so that it really looks like you are getting a returned e-mail, then you should talk to you ISP. Your ISP might have a security problem.

Good luck,
    Traden4Alpha

3. Yahoo e-mail accounts, which you can get for free, and are good for just about everything except registering on Elite Trader, have Norton Virus scans included. If you don't already have a virus scan for your e-mail, try opening a Yahoo e-mail, forward these suspicious ones to your Yahoo ID, then scan it.

There's also advice on Yahoo about how to report suspected virus hackers to the ISP of the sender, so they may even get their e-mail shut down. Basically look at whatever the e-mail address of the sender is, and try logging into that e-mail, and you'll likely find who to report that e-mail to (forward the suspicious e-mail to them).

For instance, if the e-mail is from Donna@doodlemail.com, you would go to doodlemail.com to report it.

4. Babak

Babak

...this is a new way for spammers to get your attention and hope that you read and follow the instructions in the email.

although, anyone who does fall for it deserves to have their hard drive formatted.