<< Spreading the Bund >> (please read!)

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by s0mmi, May 1, 2013.

1. s0mmi

s0mmi

Hi guys

I was wondering if any fellow experienced Futures traders can help me. I've been a consistently profitable trader at a prop shop for 2 years now, and I am looking to get a little more involved with the Bund and European session.

Now, as far as it goes, at my prop shop, every single experienced trader I talk to says "do not trade the bund. get away from it."

I don't want to just give up on it. I have no interest in trading it outright, though (I think thats impossible for me living across continents with laggy speed). I don't live in Europe or the U.S.A so I was wondering what are decent spreads with the Bund and what is some basic rationale you guys use with it?

Something I experimented with:
    - I recently tried spreading the French 10-year bonds with the German 10-year Bund. It was hell.
    -It's 10 euro a tick on a 1-lot and the spread blew 55 ticks on the first night I traded it! 5.5 basis points! How the f*ck can Government risk change THAT MUCH in a single session! Holy moly. They have the same f*cking interest rates and currency.
    -It was disastrous. And I realised that the risk/reward on that thing is blown out hard for a day-trader and single session mentality. Even two-session mentality isn't enough.
    -And what is the f*cking rationale? There was NO relative value with the CAC40 versus the DAX up/down values, or the Euro being a risk on or risk off tool. It was just random bullsh*t.

It took 1500 Euros from me and I averaged SLOWLY. There was no rationale. The French PMI was BETTER and they bought it up. The german PMI was WORSE and they sold the Bund! Hell. Pure Hell. So I learned my lesson, the French bonds with the Bund is a dirty, dirty spread and you need to find something you believe in that works.