Spreadbetting FTSE 100

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by reactor, Apr 15, 2003.

1. reactor

reactor

hi people!

i'm a newbie considering spreadbetting on the FTSE 100 because of the huge leverage as you can put on any amount for a one point movement that is divisible by £1 with a minimum bet of £1 and that all profits are tax free. i'm a uk resident and have had some experience with technical analysis. i'm considering using metastock professional version 8 along with e-signal as the data provider.

firstly, how real-time would the data be that i get from e-signal? the spreadbetting company provides software which is very limited but is fed a more uptodate price, so a follow on question is how important is it to have real-time data if i want to be an intra-day trader?

finally, my friend has managed to lose £500 from £1000 in just two days of trading, so should i be taking on such a risky instrument to begin with, and if i should, can i rely on my moving averages for entry and exit points? The pros rely on volume to help them out but its not available if you just trade the cash index, so would it be more wise to trade FTSE 100 futures?

thanks for your time people!

2. lindq

lindq

Your questions indicate that you are indeed a newbie. And as such, you should not be trading with such a leveraged vehicle until you have thoroughly become familiar with your system and the instrument you want to trade. Leverage cuts both ways, and you will be in real danger of losing your trading capital...and possibly a lot more. This is not what you want to hear. But it is advice that you should take.

3. You will get creamed ...

4. Pabst

Pabst

You British are so paradoxical. Cultured, traveled, literate, and yet the most gullable blokes in the Western world.