Speed Reading/Memory Improvement

Discussion in 'Trading' started by mjt, Oct 14, 2001.

1. mjt

mjt

OK, so what does this have to do with trading?

I'm studying for the Series 7. It's insane how much information you have to know. I'm missing practice questions because, for example, I forgot one feature out of 5 on a CMO or a GNMA.

Has anyone taken a speed reading or memory improvement course they can recommend? I'm looking for responses from people who have had actual, dramatic results in one or both of these areas.

2. The Series 7 General Securities Representative is given by the
    Procter Testing Centers after the candidate is sponsored by a
    brokerage, insurance company or finance company. The test consists of 250 questions-multiple choice. Alot of the information on the test you may never use , however , to become a professional trader or stockbroker you must get at least a 70 on
    the exam. Students are given 360 minutes to complete the exam.
    You may bring scratch paper, a pencil and a calculator that does not have a programable memory .
    If you are having trouble with the material, I would suggest you study with a group of people(after studying on your own) and
    have someone ask you questions. I would then take all the practice tests and try to get at least an 80 on the practice tests before I would feel comfortable taking the test on a Proctor terminal. Try to answer the questions by process of elimination.
    Answer the easy questions first and then answer the hard questions last.(The Proctor terminal lets you go back and answer
    questions again). Answer all questions even if you do not know the answer(you have a 1 out of 4 chance of being correct-there are four choices for every question).
    There are many Series 7 books available from a wide variety
    of schools. The Series 7 material I like is from Dearborn financial
    at http://www.dearborn.com/dfp/home.asp . Dearborn has a