Something new for journalists, dissidents. Anonymous, Free internet.

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by wilburbear, Jun 20, 2017.

1. Launched a few hours ago after more than a year of research. Proton VPN. It changes your IP address so you can't be tracked. Proton has already offered encrypted free email for over 3 years. Now this.

Share files and other information anonymously, watch Netflix from other countries, etc.

Your U.S. based VPN provider will never be able to say "No" for a request for your data from the USDOJ! Same for any of the other "14 eyes countries", which include the U.K., Australia, New Zealand, etc. Proton is based in Switzerland - which has the best privacy laws.

I'm a trader and privacy advocate not a shill. Spread the word, and read more here:

https://protonvpn.com/

2. Tsing Tao

Tsing Tao

Always wondered about this stuff. I don't quite understand how it works. Is it like a proxy where you have to run your traffic through a third party that slows down your speed and such?

comagnum and Max E. like this.
  3. Cuddles

Cuddles

kind of; think "remote desktop", with the exception that speeds can be exceptionally high as their based off countries w/ridiculous internet service (think sweden). I've used similar services in the past w/30 mb/s sustained download speeds.

comagnum and Tsing Tao like this.
  4. Tsing Tao

Tsing Tao

I appreciate that. I'll have to take a look at it.

5. maxpi

maxpi

If they take payment in bitcoin and don't keep any records it's secure

6. Overnight

Overnight

So you are actively promoting a website that can allow money laundering through criminal enterprise. *tsk tsk*

You getting a stipend for each user you get to sign up? Or is this your "free speech" stance that you have been waiting for all your life?

7. Cuddles

Cuddles

nothing wrong with protecting anonymity

MoreLeverage and PitchBlack like this.
  8. I have an account with them for both: email and vpn.