something for the 1% of you that aren't imbeciles. Y Scalping is hard

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by stock777, Sep 11, 2011.

1. trader967

trader967

"His studies show that people with the best self-control are the ones who structure their lives so as to conserve willpower...Instead of counting on willpower to remain robust all day, they conserve it so that it’s available for emergencies and important decisions."

Great article. I am a somewhat successful discretionary trader but I find it exhausting. I am finally (3 years into this) coming around to the idea that I should set up a detailed trading plan to reduce the amount of decisions I have to make in a day.

2. The article says that decision making gets worse as the day wears on...

I live on the west coast and start trading very early in the morning. I've always considered it a tactical advantage to get up early and focus intensely on trading before dealing with anything else. I don't know how people can trade effectively late in the day. How do they stay focused?

3. MAE/MFE help you to monitor your ''wearness''.

4. ''Afterward, all the participants were given one of the classic tests of self-control: holding your hand in ice water for as long as you can. The impulse is to pull your hand out, so self-discipline is needed to keep the hand underwater. The deciders gave up much faster; they lasted 28 seconds, less than half the 67-second average of the nondeciders. Making all those choices had apparently sapped their willpower, and it wasn’t an isolated effect. It was confirmed in other experiments testing students after they went through exercises like choosing courses from the college catalog."

hahahaaaa..

:cool:

5. Handle123

Handle123