Some help on automation pls

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by SC77, Mar 30, 2006.

1. SC77

SC77

Hi to everyone

I am looking for somewhere to start in order to solve my problem.
    I have been trading for the last 5 years intensively and during that time I have constructed a good model -in my opinion- based on technical indicators, volatility adjusted sizing etc. I have been trading my model the last 3 months and I have backtested over a long enough period. But I know sometime in the future my model will show a large drawdown on my account and I would like to avoid such an event by lowering my volatility of returns and therefore would like to add more instruments in my trading basket. I currently I only trade the Dax future. The point is I trade with very little technology involved in terms of automation which means I only have time to trade 1 instrument. I use excel sheets to calc everything and get my signals which I then enter in the tradestation. How can I automate orders, link excels etc?? I am looking for a starting point where I can educate myself. I have no idea of programming C++ etc. In the internet there are many resources..so many actually that somebody likes me gets lost.
    Thank you for your help

sc77

2. maxpi

maxpi

You list Excel as one of your tools. You might learn to record and edit macros as an introduction to programming in VBA, which is included in your Excel software. You can buy software that interfaces your chart program to Interactive Brokers, they list third party tools on their site. Some of the chart packages are relatively easy to program, maybe somebody can steer you in the direction of the best one for beginners.

3. You've come a fairly long way considering you are not a "professional programmer".

That said...
    Keep in mind that it takes several years ** full-time ** to become a pro programmer (which I am)...
    Yes, kids, at least 5,000 hours of coding.