Some general advice needed

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by FakeAristocrat, Feb 25, 2007.

1. Hi Everyone,
    Let me start by introducing myself, this is my first post, Im Christoper 19 and Im a student from the UK.

I coming to end of my second year of my Economics and Accounting degree (not that specific I know) and I once I have aced this I really want to break into the world of commodities trading (Energy ideally).

I've have absolutely no experience or exposure to any of the markets, so firstly could someone suggest some reading material in terms of commodities futures for the complete idiot?

Now the dilemma, bearing in mind Im a complete newbie. Do I spend my £15,000 (approx $30K) savings on a masters education in commodities and finance, or use it to learn and hopefully make some money for myself?

In terms of prospective employers, would they value someone who had the tenacity to do the second option over someone with a masters in the subject?

Apologies for the long winded question, and if I have stuck this post in the wrong place further apologies. But any feedback would be greatfully recieved.

Christopher.

2. PJKIII

PJKIII

Hey Buddy....no, I don't think that you have come to the wrong place at all. BUT, you have decided to delve into this market in a time of extroardinary changes. Volume has gone through the roof recently since the CL contract has gone electronic and gained extensive popularity, so a lot of the old rules no longer seem to apply (locals who have been in this marlket for years, are getting smoked daily and finding it extremely difficult to trade). There are so many day traders now that volatility has gone nuts, and even if you're right about direction, the use of stops can cause a correct directional choice to yield losses even if you are ulmtimately correct about where prices are trending.