Solver for Excel

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by EqtTrdr, Jun 16, 2006.

1. I can't seem to figure out how to use this program...

Exactly what data do I need to input?

I have 100 different trades with Max DD and Max gain of each trade.

I am trying to optimize for stop and target?

Any suggestions?

thanks

2. why would u need to use the solver to do this? how are u modelling it?

u can also use Matlab to solve which is much faster than excels solver.

3. thanks.. will look into it..

My first time trying to optimize for a data set. I am an extreme novice and I figured Excel's Solver would be sufficient and at no cost.

4. to use solver...
    1) Formulat
    a) Decision Variable (Something u are in control of)
    b) Make an objective function the depends on those Decsion Variable
    c) Constariants ...Limits that those variables have to have Minimum Maximum..=...etc

2) Run the solver to solve for those Decision Variables

Example:

Say Ur Decison Variables are 3 of them
    Call them Appl msft and amgn
    the decision Variables in this case is the amount of ur assets Into those Stocks in Percent

appl= % of totoal into appl...etc

total returns or average= Return of aapl*(AAPL)+Ret of MSFT*(MSFT)...etc

(...Decision Variables)
    that thing is ur objective funtion...I think u want to maximize

now for the contraints:
    1) Total of assets=100%=1
    =AAPL+MSFT+AMGN=1
    say u want less then 40% in any
    then..
    AAPL<.4
    MSFT <.4
    amgn<.4

say also U want AAPL+MSFT < .6
    put that there...etc
    off course
    D Variables in this case have to >0
    ...etc
    Hope that helps

Maximum Variables EXCEL can do is 200 I think
    I developed ONES that 500,000 Variables
    USing "What's Best" Software

Good Luck with the area...
    Called Operations Research... (Not Easy Stuff)