Solid Mom's Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Solid Mom, Jun 24, 2008.

1. Hello folks,

This is my trading journal. I am a stay at home mom of two young children. The oldest will enter kindergarten in the fall and the youngest will follow in two years. I have a liberal arts degree, so no formal business background.

I started trading just as the bull market ended last year. Lost some $, took a break, came back, lost some more $, and now I’m back again. I think I have a better plan this time, but part of that plan involves learning more, and participating here will be part of the learning experience.

I am interested in your thoughts on what I’m doing right and wrong. I’ll just start with the present and save you the boredom of bad past trades that served as “tuition.”

Today began well, but I ended it by blowing through all earnings from the past two days. Still paying tuition? Here are my trades as well as the psychology that accompanied the trades.

June 24, 2008

----------------------------------------------------------
    SPY BOT 300 Limit $130.50 Executed $130.50

SPY SLD 300 Limit $130.63 Executed $130.63

Bought at 10:33
    Held 12 minutes. Note – If I had held, I would have made much more within 2 hours.

Gross Profit = 39.00

QID BOT 1,500 Limit $42.50 Executed $42.50

QID SLD 500 Limit $42.65 Executed $42.65

QID SLD 200 Limit $42.65 Executed $42.65

QID SLD 800 Limit $42.65 Executed $42.65

Bought 10:26 ETS
    Held 8 minutes

Gross Profit = 225

QQQQ BOT 700 Limit $47.25 Executed $47.25

QQQQ BOT 2,300 Limit $47.25 Executed $47.25

QQQQ SLD 3,000 Limit $47.06 Executed $47.06

Bought 2:24 EST
    Held 22 minutes

Gross Profit = (570.00)

This last trade was the problem. The first two seemed to be in a rising or level trend. This last one I could have used better judgment on.