software engineer path

Discussion in 'App Development' started by nickhat, Oct 2, 2012.

1. nickhat

nickhat

Hi all,

I'm currently a sellside broker working on the institutional side. With the obvious shift toward technology, I'm interested in pursuing a career in software engineering, specifically working on and developing trading platforms at large institutions (i-banks, hedge funds etc). I have no prior programming experience. I've looked into the MSE online program at Brandeis which seems like a good way to start. I'd appreciate any and all advice. Thanks

2. You can't just look in the mirror one morning and decide you want to be an engineer "because it makes sense".

Every engineer I know (including me) knew they were going to be engineers when they were like 10 years old. It's either in your blood or it's not.

3. There is nothing wrong with learning to program, but this is self-directed learning. You get what you put in, and if by 18, you never had the curiosity. I might want Donald Trump's paycheck, but that doesn't make it a job for me.

Software is a knowledge and problem solving game. What is it that you have deep knowledge about? Perhaps you are better off as a Business Analyst?
    There are many different roles within the software industry.
    Checkout
    Eze Castle Software Careers
    Bloomberg Careers
    for an idea.

I once knew a student who get a degree as a Chemical Engineer. When he got his diploma, he was all excited; because, he never had to do chemistry again. A waste of a good education.

You need to figure-out what you want.
    Steven

4. Absolutely true. The math, physics, chem, statics-dynamics, etc., required to get a real Engineering degree will wash out all but the most dedicated.

It's possible the op meant a comp sci degree. Much easier career path.

5. emg

emg

why brandeis?

6. nickhat

nickhat