So much for Global Warming

Discussion in 'Economics' started by jficquette, Dec 10, 2008.

1. http://epw.senate.gov/public/index....ecord_id=2158072e-802a-23ad-45f0-274616db87e6

A hint of what the upcoming report contains:

“I am a skeptic…Global warming has become a new religion.” - Nobel Prize Winner for Physics, Ivar Giaever.

“Since I am no longer affiliated with any organization nor receiving any funding, I can speak quite frankly….As a scientist I remain skeptical.” - Atmospheric Scientist Dr. Joanne Simpson, the first woman in the world to receive a PhD in meteorology and formerly of NASA who has authored more than 190 studies and has been called “among the most preeminent scientists of the last 100 years.”

Warming fears are the “worst scientific scandal in the history…When people come to know what the truth is, they will feel deceived by science and scientists.” - UN IPCC Japanese Scientist Dr. Kiminori Itoh, an award-winning PhD environmental physical chemist.

“The IPCC has actually become a closed circuit; it doesn’t listen to others. It doesn’t have open minds… I am really amazed that the Nobel Peace Prize has been given on scientifically incorrect conclusions by people who are not geologists,” - Indian geologist Dr. Arun D. Ahluwalia at Punjab University and a board member of the UN-supported International Year of the Planet."

2. There is global warming, but it has little to do with CO2. The masses are not ready to find out the real reason.

It is a movement that has long term goals which are pretty scary. At the same time, there is a lot of good & proper tasks built into the agenda.

The key is not to be polarized on the topic.

3. Man, "new religion" is right.

I can't say if I believe global warming is caused by human activity or not. I'm trained as a scientist and that's made me a natural skeptic about most everything.